[ Text | Word 97 ]


Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
Internet: http://www.fcc.gov

DA 00-545
Released: March 10, 2000


The Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") has established the Public Safety National Coordination Committee, pursuant to the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, to advise the Commission on a variety of issues relating to the use of the 24 MHz of spectrum in the 764-776/794-806 MHz frequency bands (collectively, the 700 MHz band) that has been allocated to public safety services. See The Development of Operational, Technical and Spectrum Requirements For Meeting Federal, State and Local Public Safety Agency Communications Requirements Through the Year 2010 and Establishment of Rules and Requirements For Priority Access Service, WT Docket No. 96-86, First Report and Order and Third Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, FCC 98-191 (1998), 63 FR 58645, November 2, 1998. The Steering Committee of the NCC has established 3 subcommittees: the Technology, Interoperability and Implementation Subcommittees. This notice advises interested persons of the sixth meeting of the subcommittees.

Meeting Times:
Meeting Time:
April 6, 2000
Interoperability Subcommittee - 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Technology Subcommittee - 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
April 7, 2000
Implementation Subcommittee - 8:30 a.m. - 12:30 noon
Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, S.W. - Commission Meeting Room
Washington, D.C. 20554

Supplementary Information: The agenda for each of the subcommittee meetings is as follows:

1. Introduction and Welcoming Remarks
2. Approval of Agenda
3. Discussion of Subcommittees' Year 2 Plan of Action and Milestones
4. Breakout into Working Groups

5. Other Business

The NCC and each of the subcommittees has an open membership. Previous expressions of interest in membership have been received in response to several Public Notices inviting interested persons to become members and to participate in the NCC's processes. All persons who have previously identified themselves or have been designated as a representative of an organization are deemed members and are invited to attend. Members wishing to attend the subcommittee meetings of the NCC, or persons wishing to become NCC members, please contact Joy Alford or Bert Weintraub of the Policy and Rules Branch of the Public Safety and Private Wireless Division, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau of the FCC by calling (202) 418-0680, by faxing (202) 418-2643, or by E-mailing at bweintra@fcc.gov or jalford@fcc.gov. Please provide your name, the organization you represent, your phone number, fax number and email address. Persons requesting accommodations for hearing disabilities should contact Joy Alford immediately at (202) 418-7233 (TTY). Persons requesting accommodations for other physical disabilities should contact Joy Alford immediately at (202) 418-0694 or via e-mail at jalford@fcc.gov.

Additional information about the NCC and NCC-related matters can be found on the NCC website located at: http://www.fcc.gov/wtb/publicsafety/ncc.html.

For Further Information Contact: Michael J. Wilhelm, Designated Federal Officer of the Public Safety National Coordination Committee (202) 418-0680, or by e-mail to mwilhelm@fcc.gov.

Action by Chief, Public Safety and Private Wireless Division, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau.

- FCC -