Text | Word97
Meeting Agenda
Membership List
Subcommittee Working Groups
CDTAC Home Page

fcclogo NEWS

Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20554
News media information 202 / 418-0500
Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830
Internet: http://www.fcc.gov
TTY: 202/418-2555

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

March 19, 2001

News Media contact:
Rosemary Kimball at (202) 418-0511 (voice)
(202) 418-0179 (TTY)
email: rkimball@fcc.gov


Washington, DC - The FCC will receive an important new tool to assist it in serving consumers, including those with disabilities, when the Consumer/Disability Telecommunications Advisory Committee holds its first meeting on Monday, March 26.

Chairman Powell, Commissioners Ness, Furchtgott-Roth and Tristani will offer welcoming remarks.

The Committee is composed of 40 distinguished representatives of business, academia, consumer and disability organizations, Hispanic groups, Indian country, and the public. It will be chaired by nationally-known consumer advocate Shirley Rooker, President of the "Call For Action," the international network of radio and television stations that support consumer hotlines. A list of the Committee members is attached.

The FCC announced the establishment of the Committee on November 30, 2000. Organized under the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act at the FCC, it will play a large role in keeping the Commission apprised of the needs and concerns of consumers. It will make recommendations to the Commission regarding consumer and disability issues within the jurisdiction of the Commission and facilitate the participation of consumers, including people with disabilities and underserved populations, in proceedings before the Commission.

The Committee will be divided into three subcommittee working groups: Consumer Protection and Education; Access by People with Disabilities; and Availability and Affordability of Telecommunications Products and Services. A list of these working groups with the subjects that they may be exploring is attached. Additional subject matters may be covered at the discretion of the Committee.

The meeting will be held at FCC Headquarters, 445 12th St., SW, in the Commission Meeting Room, and is open to the public. It will begin at 9:00 AM and conclude at 4:30 PM. The agenda is attached.

The meeting will be broadcast on the Internet in Real Audio/Real Video format with captioning at www.fcc.gov/cib/cdtac. The meeting will be sign language interpreted and realtime transcription will also be available. Meeting agendas and handout material will also be provided in accessible formats. The meeting site is fully accessible to people with disabilities.

- FCC -

Consumer Information Bureau contact: Scott Marshall at (202) 418-2809 (voice) or (202) 418-0179 (TTY); email: cdtac@fcc.gov

Text | Word97


Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, Southwest, Room TW-C305, Washington, DC

Monday, March 26, 2001
9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

A   G   E   N   D   A

9:00 a.m. - 9:15 a.m. Welcome and Call to Order
Shirley Rooker, Committee Chair
Scott Marshall, Designated Federal Officer/Consumer Information Bureau (CIB)

9:15 a.m. - 9:55 a.m. Welcome and Remarks
Chairman Michael K. Powell
Commissioner Susan Ness
Commissioner Harold Furchtgott-Roth
Commissioner Gloria Tristani

9:55 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. Review of Meeting Agenda and Logistics
Scott Marshall
Introduction of Committee Members
Shirley Rooker

11:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. What We're All About: The FCC
Karen Peltz Strauss, Deputy Chief, CIB
Margaret Egler, Associate Chief for Policy, CIB

11:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Lunch

12:30 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. The Mission of CDTAC
Roderick K. Porter, Acting Chief, CIB

12:45 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Review of CDTAC Operating Guidelines
Scott Marshall

1:00 p.m. - 1:10 p.m. Charge to Subcommittees
Shirley Rooker

1:10 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. Subcommittee Breakout Sessions

2:50 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Break

3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. Report from Subcommittees
Comments from the Public
Wrap-up and Next Steps

4:30 p.m. Adjournment

Text | Word97

Consumer/Disability Telecommunications Advisory Committee

Membership List

Rayna Aylward
Executive Director
Mitsubishi Electric America Foundation

Brenda Battat
Acting Executive Director Self Help for Hard of Hearing People

Gil Becker
National Association of State Relay Administration

Daniel Brenner
Senior Vice President for Law and Regulatory Policy
National Cable Television Association

Julie Carroll
Senior Policy Analyst
Information Technology Technical Assistance and Training Center

Robert E. Chrostowski
Government Relations Committee
Telecommunication Industry Association

Michael F. DelCasino
Regulatory Division Manager

Richard T. Ellis
Director of Federal Affairs
Verizon Communications

Maricela Gallegos
Disability Program Manager
Hewlett-Packard Company

Joseph C. Gaskins
ConnectBid LLC

Larry Goldberg
WGBH National Center for Accessible Media

Susan Grant
National Fraud and Information Center
National Consumers League

Judith E. Harkins, Ph.D.
Gallaudet University

Dahlia E. Hayles
Telecommunications Project
Rainbow/PUSH Coalition and Citizenship Education Fund

Steve Jacobs

Vernon R. James
Executive Director
Health and Human Services
San Carlos Apache Tribe

Matt Kaltenbach
Product Manager
Technical Standards and Customer Features
Ericsson Inc.

Karen Fullum Kirsch
Vice President
Regulatory Affairs
National Association of Broadcasters

Jeffrey Kramer
Legislative Representative for Telecommunications and Utilities
Federal Affairs Department

Andrew Lange
Special Assistant to the CEO
Communications Service for the Deaf

Lila Laux, Ph.D.
Lead Engineer
Human Factors Engineer
Qwest Communications International, Inc.

Nanci Linke-Ellis
Executive Director
TRIPOD Captioned Films

Milton J. Little, Jr.
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
The National Urban League

Paul W. Ludwick
TRS Product Manager
Sprint Corporation

Ken McEldowney
Executive Director
Consumer Action

Belinda Nelson
General Manager
Gila River Telecommunications, Inc.

Shelley Nixon
College Student
Cabrini College

Kathleen F. O'Reilly
Attorney at Law

Susan Palmer
Manager of Industry Affairs
Cingular Wireless LLC

David Poehlman
Technology Consultant
American Council of the Blind

Dr. Refugio I. Rochin
Smithsonian Center for Latino Initiatives
Smithsonian Institution

Shirley L. Rooker
Call For Action

Laura Ruby
Regulatory Program Manager
Microsoft Corporation

Paul Schroeder
Alliance for Public Technology

Bob Segalman, Ph.D.
Founder, Speech to Speech

Jim Tobias
Inclusive Technologies

Micaela Tucker
Team Leader
Accessibility Project

Judith Viera
Vice President
Consumer & Regulatory Affairs
Wynd Communications Corporation

Karen Walls
Senior Staff Associate
Telecommunications Research & Action Center

Andrea Williams
Assistant General Counsel
Cellular Telecommunications & Internet Association

Text | Word97



Consumer Protection and Education

Access by People with Disabilities

Availability and Affordability of Telecommunications Products and Services